Senate Approves Winnie Odinga & Kennedy Musyoka for EALA Seat

Azimio la Umoja coalition leader, Raila Odinga's last-born daughter, Winnie Odinga, and Wiper leader, Kaonzo Musyoka's son, Kennedy Musyoka are among the candidates that have been approved today by the senate for the position of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Senate Approves Winnie Odinga & Kennedy Musyoka for EALA Seat

Kalonzo's son Kennedy Musyoka led with 45 votes in the Azimio camp, followed by Suleiman Shahbal who got 38 votes while Winnie Odinga garnered 35 votes.

Winnie Odinga's victory comes just a day after she appeared for an exclusive interview in one of the media houses in Kenya where she spoke eloquently about herself being the best candidate for the seat.

The interview also prompted Kenyans to view Winnie Odinga as a young leader who would defend Kenyans just like her father, Raila Odinga. Winnie Odinga also seems to have followed her father's footsteps in the political world and many Kenyans flocked online to congratulate her after the interview she had.

Apart from Winnie Odinga contesting for the seat, several other candidates including those from the Kenya Kwanza party were in the race. Jubilee party Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni got only one vote. Former Kieni Member of Parliament, Kanini Kega clinched 29 votes while former Kitutu Masaba MP Timothy Bosire got 17 votes. 

Kenya Kwanza nominees had former Mombasa senator, Hassan Omar who got 46 votes, former nominated senator Falhada Dekow got 43 votes and former Nandi Woman Representative Zipporah Kering had 37. 

Former URP Secretary General Fred Muteti scooped 39 votes while former nominated MP David ole Sankok had 35 votes. 

The Kenya Kwanza Alliance was allocated five slots to fill while the Azimio la Umoja- One Kenya will have four slots. The final round lies in the National Assembly where the legislators will tally their votes and pick the representatives. 

The ODM party in a statement on Wednesday, nominated Winnie Odinga, Mombasa businessman Suleiman Shahbal, former Kitutu Masaba MP, and the party’s National Treasurer Timothy Bosire, Former Turkana Water and Irrigation CEC Beatrice Askul, former Shinyalu MP Justus Kizito and Mohammed Diriye (Wajir).