Travelers Flock Nairobi's Machakos Country Bus Racing To Beat the 8 pm Lockdown Deadline [Video]

Starting 8 pm today (March 28), residents within Kiambu, Machakos, Nairobi, Kajiado, and Nakuru will not be allowed to leave their counties, while interactions from outsiders will also not be allowed.

Machakos country bus in Nairobi county is full of travelers who are hopeful to exit the city before 8 pm when the lockdown will become effective.

Speaking on Saturday, March 27, 2021 (yesterday), the government Spokesman Cyrus Oguna said that Kenyans had been given a grace period of until Sunday, March 28 (today) to either leave or enter the counties earmarked for the lockdown.

President Kenyatta during his most recent address to the nation declared a movement ban to and from Machakos, Kajiado, Nairobi, Kiambu, and Nakuru counties.

According to Kenyatta, the five regions had reportedly been identified as the Covid-19 hotspot areas, owing to many infections originating from them. 

As a result, the president stated that movement in and out of the stated counties will remain barred until otherwise advised.  

Worship services among other social gatherings in the said counties were also suspended, with stricter rules slapped on funeral and marriage ceremonies. 

The nation has continued reporting high infection and death cases, at a time when the country is reportedly suffering its Covid-19 third wave.