UEFA Vows To Stop Proposed European Super League

UEFA has reacted harshly to the threat of six English clubs joining the proposed European Super League.

UEFA Vows To Stop Proposed European Super League

The six English clubs joining the European Super League include Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham, and Manchester City. According to reports, these teams will be joined by teams from Italy and Spain.

According to a statement from UEFA, the Football Associations of England, Spain, and Italy plus the Premier League, LaLiga, and Seria A stated that they remained united in halting the proposed project of launching European Super League and were even considering judicial and sporting measures to prevent this from happening.

FIFA had announced that the clubs involved shall be banned from playing in any other competition at domestic, European, or world level and their players would be denied the opportunity to represent their national teams. They further thanked teams from Germany and French that refused to sign up for the proposal.

The Football Association said that this would be damaging to English and European Football at all levels and will attack the principles of open competition and sporting merit which are fundamental to competitive sport.

It`s widely known that for new competitions to be formed there is a need for approval from the relevant national associations, Confederations, or FIFA.