Sakaja Unveils his County Executive Committee (CEC) Members

Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja met his promise of naming his County Executive Committee (CECs} On Wednesday 26th afternoon.

Sakaja Unveils his County Executive Committee (CEC) Members

Sakaja unveiled his list of Cabinet nominees who will now proceed for vetting by the City-County Assembly.

He made the great announcement on Wednesday noting that the 19 County Executive Committee (CEC) member nominees will assume office mid-next month upon clearance.


Governor Sakaja and his DeputyJames Muchiri during an event in Kibera on Tuesday 24th October. PHOTO TWITTER

"We have, following continued consultations with the people of Nairobi, set out our priority areas to get Nairobi moving.  We shall do this by creating an environment that promotes citizen engagement, and makes it easy for you to access services," said Sakaja.

"Today, we introduce the nominees for County Executive Committee Members for Nairobi City County Government. This team of men and women have been carefully selected to meet the challenge of the responsibility before them."

Michael Gumbo has been suggested to take on the Innovation and Digital Economy CEC docket, while Charles Kerich has been proposed as the CEC for Finance and Economic Affairs.

Following approval, Stephen Gathuita Mwangi and Ibrahim Auma Nyanganya will assume leadership of the Urban Planning and Boroughs Administration and Personnel dockets, respectively, while Patrick Mbogo and Brian Mulama have been recommended for the Talent and Skills Development and Mobility and Works CEC positions.

The nomination for the CEC position for Business and Hustler Opportunities is for Rosemary Kariuki.

However, Nyanganya and Kariuki will be answerable to his Nairobi Deputy governor James Njoroge Muchiri.

READ ALSO: Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja has vowed to improve the online payment platforms in a bid to curb all online fraudsters who have been conning innocent and unsuspecting Kenyans.

Other candidates on Governor Sakaja's list are Maureen Njeri (Green Nairobi), Dr. Anastacia Mutethya Nyalita (Health, Wellness, and Nutrition), and Suzanne Silantoi (Inclusivity, Public Participation, and Customer Service).

Dr. Jairus Musumba has been nominated for the job of County Secretary, along with David Njoroge, the Chief of Staff, Lawrence Wambua, Elias Mutuma, Dr. Samora Otieno, and William Ndung'u, the Legal and Political Advisors, according to Sakaja.

Upon confirmation, Sakaja's cabinet will also include Prof. Washington Yotto Ochieng (mobility advisor), John Mwangi Maina (urban and regional planning), and Priscilla Mahinda (private secretary).